Faculty and Staff Directory

Administration

Name Title Phone Email Office
Sally Blake Department Chair, Professor 815-753-9032 sblake1@niu.edu GA 147
Laurie Elish-Piper Dean, Presidential Teaching Professor 815-753-9055 laurieep@niu.edu GH 321A
Kristine Wilke Director, Jerry Johns Litercy Clinic 815-753-1416 kwilke1@niu.edu GA 147

Advising

Name Title Phone Email Office
Kate Donohue Middle Level Teaching and Learning Program Advisor 815-753-9034 cdonohue2@niu.edu GA 161E
Nick Slicer Graduate Advisor 815-753-7948 nslicer@niu.edu GA 152D

Office Support Staff

Name Title Phone Email Office
Brenda Kehm Office Manager 815-753-1417 bkehm@niu.edu GA 147

Academic Literacy and Learning

Name Title Phone Email Office
Michele Duffy Instructor 815-753-1729 mduffy@niu.edu GA 147
Jodi Lampi Director, Assistant Professor 815-753-8486 jlampi@niu.edu GA 148B
Jenny Theriault Instructor 815-753-4647 jtheriault1@niu.edu GA 147
Rebecca Vaughn Instructor 815-753-9674 rvaughn2@niu.edu GA 103

Bilingual/ESL

Name Title Phone Email Office
Brenda Oriana Aranda Assistant Professor 815-753-5741 baranda@niu.edu GA 154
James Cohen Assistant Professor 815-753-0897 jcohen2@niu.edu GA 147F
Mayra Daniel Associate Professor 815-753-8379 mcdaniel@niu.edu GA 147E
Samantha Morley Instructor 815-753-8556 smoreley2@niu.edu GA 147
Carolyn Riley Instructor 815-753-8556 criley4@niu.edu GA 147
John Evar Strid Assistant Professor 815-753-4158 jstrid@niu.edu GA 147D
Dianne Zalesky Instructor 815-753-9674 dzalesky@niu.edu GH 119B

Curriculum and Instruction

Name Title Phone Email Office
Joseph Flynn Associate Professor 815-753-4539 jeflynn@niu.edu GH 417
Elizabeth Wilkins Professor 815-753-9406 ewilkins@niu.edu AD 210

Elementary Education

Name Title Phone Email Office
Megan Gerken Instructor mgerken@niu.edu GA 152D
Trish Hayden Instructor thayden1@niu.edu GA 147
Tammy Leigh Instructor tleigh@niu.edu GA 152
Tammy Scheibe Instructor tscheibe@niu.edu GA 152

Reading, Literacy and Language Arts

Name Title Phone Email Office
Zoe Cassady Instructor 815-753-9272 zcassady1@niu.edu GH 223
Mary Costello Associate Professor 815-753-8465 mcostello@niu.edu GA 130C
Mary Gardner Instructor 815-753-2036 gardner@niu.edu GA 147
Melanie Koss Associate Professor 815-753-9260 mkoss@niu.edu GA 130A
Peet Smith Assistant Professor 815-753-6489 psmith5@niu.edu GA 147
Melanie Walski Assistant Professor 815-753-2214 mwalski@niu.edu GH 119F
Donna Werderich Associate Professor 815-753-7639 dwerderi@niu.edu GH 119L
Corrine Wickens Associate Professor 815-753-8485 cwickens@niu.edu GH 119J

Science Education

Name Title Phone Email Office
C Sheldon Woods Associate Professor 815-753-8446 cswoods@niu.edu GA 102

Social Studies Education

Name Title Phone Email Office
Mary Beth Henning Professor 815-753-8591 mhenning@niu.edu GA 166C
Eui-kyung Shin Professor 815-753-8492 ekshin@niu.edu GA 166E

Contact Us

Department of Curriculum and Instruction
Gabel Hall 147
815-753-8556
815-753-8563 (fax)
CIDepartment@niu.edu 

Follow Us On